CMD-IT University Award for Retention of Minorities and Students with Disabilities in Computer Science

The University Award recognizes US institutions that have demonstrated a strong commitment to increasing the computer science baccalaureate degree production of minorities and students with disabilities, through effective retention programs. The 2019 University Award is sponsored by Microsoft, Inc. The CMD-IT University Award includes:

  • Monetary Prize of $15,000
  • An Award
  • Invitation to give an invited presentation at the faculty workshop at Tapia 2019

Award decisions will be based on quantitative and qualitative reporting of results. The qualitative report in the application must include a description of the retention programs in place, as well as details about the unit that awards the undergraduate computer science degree, and contextual details about the institution. The quantitative report in the application includes a five year history of retention data for different groups of students.

All nominations will remain confidential. Each participating university will receive a detailed report that summarizes the data across all participating institutions. Past award recipients cannot submit a nomination for up to three years beyond the award.

Nominate your university!

The nomination process entails a two step process.

1. Complete the nomination form.

2. Once your nomination form has been received, you will be sent an excel file to provide your five year history of retention data and details regarding your retention programs. Your complete package must be submitted via the link provided by June 1, 2019.

2019 CMD-IT University Award Deadlines

  • Application Deadline: June 1, 2019.
  • Notification date: July 1, 2019.

The University Award Recognition will take place at the 2019 ACM Richard Tapia Celebration of Diversity in Computing Conference

For questions regarding the CMD-IT University Award nominations, please contact Manuel Perez Quinones